French wine I love is disappointing in subsequent tastings? via /r/wine

French wine I love is disappointing in subsequent tastings?

I don't know what's going on here and it's a bit frustrating. Two Bordeaux and something from southern France that were all easily in top 5 territory were on the second go round (or third in one case) not nearly as good. I ate the same food with them, decanted them for the same length of time and served at the same temperature so I don't know what's going on. I don't have this issue with Italian or Californian wine so I'm kind of at a loss. Has anyone else experienced something similar? I don't think it's a placebo affect as they're in the same price range as everything else I buy ($20-$30). Basically they all went from being very layered and complex to being super one-dimensional.

Submitted August 13, 2017 at 04:32PM by noxnoctum
via reddit http://ift.tt/2wVwXCL

Leave a Reply

