2010 Clos Rougeard Saumur-Champigny – drink or hold? via /r/wine

2010 Clos Rougeard Saumur-Champigny – drink or hold?

Hey all,

My birthday is coming up on Friday and i'm thinking about splurging on a bottle or two. I noticed a wine shop near me that I generally trust and always has a good inventory has a couple bottles of 2010 CR Saumur-Champigny (the appellation-level bottling, not the Les Poyeux or Les Bourg) on sale for $99 (each) which seems like a steal based on other prices i've seen for even the appellation-level bottling. As a Loire Cab Franc nut, this is an exciting find for me.

As far as storage goes, the store isn't like cellar temp or anything but seems at least temperature controlled because it's always a slightly-cool room temperature in there even on sweltering summer days, so hopefully I think the wine would still be in decent shape. But the price almost has me concerned that they're accounting for the fact they might not be in the best condition? The capsules are intact, fill levels don't seem diminished at all, and the bottles just generally seem in perfectly fine shape, but I dunno, I guess i'm just probably needlessly wary.

Anyway, should I decide to pull the trigger; anyone with previous experience with these wines have any idea of how they're drinking right now? Should I let em sit for a few more years or should they be showing alright now?

Thanks!

Submitted July 12, 2017 at 11:56AM by shiveringshoegazer
via reddit http://ift.tt/2uRLv5W

Leave a Reply

