Top cabs/PN picks to bring back home (US to ITA) ? via /r/wine

Top cabs/PN picks to bring back home (US to ITA) ?

I'll be traveling to the US in August, thought I might grab some cabs and PN from California/Oregon. I'm in Italy and I can only get the main brands (Mondavi, FFC, Ravenswood, Clos du Bois, …) when at home.

I'll be in an area where Total Wine will be my choice. While I am willing to spend up to $80-ish per bottle, I would not mind at all finding some interesting samples in a lower price tier. Not a big fan of oak, and I have proper storage, so waiting a few years to pop a bottle is an option.

Can you name the top three or four bottles I should absolutely bring back from minor wineries or that I would not find overseas ? Vintages to go for/avoid ? Pitfalls ?

thanks

Submitted July 11, 2017 at 10:34AM by francispelton
via reddit http://ift.tt/2u5cVYG

Leave a Reply

