Help a wine noob pick for gifts! via /r/wine

Help a wine noob pick for gifts!

Hello reddit wine community I need your help!

My sister’s wedding anniversary is coming up and she is a wine snob (although she claims to not be). If any of you fall into this category I apologize in advance and please do not take offense! I bought her and her husband one of those wine boxes that people open on different anniversary dates (1 year, 3 year, 10 year etc.) and now I need to purchase the wine that goes into those slots.

I know next to nothing about wine, and I need to buy 4 different wines of increasing quality to fit in each slot. I tried to ask her what kind of wines she likes but she answered “it depends what I’m eating, doing, my mood, and what I’m feeling like” – hence the snob comment earlier. All I could get was that she likes red wines.

Here’s my budget: Wine #1 for Anniversary #1: Something good in the $20 range Wine #2 for Anniversary #3: in the $50 range Wine #3 for Anniversary #5: $100 range Wine #4 for Anniversary #10: Some awesome for $200-$300

Chances are she’s tried most of the “mainstream” popular stuff whether it’s expensive or not so I’d prefer something more “rare” or less well-known but still very good. I'm not sure if there is such thing as "mainstream popular stuff" but you get my point.

Thanks for your help.

Submitted July 09, 2017 at 08:20PM by PandaWanton
via reddit http://ift.tt/2u8fgCi

Leave a Reply

