I think I drank Grands Échezeaux tonight. via /r/wine

I think I drank Grands Échezeaux tonight.

Long story short, I work as a server at a (very busy) restaurant with a ridiculous wine list. Tonight I was handed a burgundy glass by my sommelier who was dumping three others into our bin. I asked what we were tasting and Grand Échezeaux is what she said before walking off. She said, "(our owner) thinks it has started to turn." I took a sip and I couldn't believe what I was tasting. It was pipe tobacco and fig like stewed fruit. Really deep but still surprisingly bright. I've never tasted anything like it. Having to get back to closing I pounded the whole thing. The tastes lingered and kept developing for almost an hour on the palate. It was crazy. I'm not sure exactly what I drank, but knowing who handed it to me I think I inadvertently ingested some ridiculous juice. I will respond tomorrow when I find out what exactly I had, but could it have really been DRC?

Submitted July 03, 2017 at 01:56AM by anyholsagol
via reddit http://ift.tt/2ugEWd3

Leave a Reply

