What do you all like to hear, taste, and experience when you go to wineries for tastings? via /r/wine

What do you all like to hear, taste, and experience when you go to wineries for tastings?

I'm simply trying to be a better server here. I'm not a sommelier (maybe one day), just a wine server at a local winery.

I'd like to provide a better experience and not be so annoying. Sometimes I feel as if I say to much and can't let them focus on the wine and what they're experiencing. Anyway, I've got a few questions –

1) What do you like the server to say to you and how much is enough to tell people?

2) Is it good to explain what they're likely to taste or should I dance around the history of that particular wine too?

3) What are some professional mannerisms that you appreciate? (i.e. pouring the wine a certain way or something more nuanced)

4) I try to be aware of if the customer would enjoy being a part of our wine club but sometimes I'll say it and they're turned off. Other times, I'll explain it after they ask and they seem finicky. It feels like I'm fishing and getting bites and rarely and hooked fish (poor comparison but it's pretty accurate). Any tips for this?

5) How do you receive confidence or lack thereof in a wine server?

Thanks!

Submitted June 19, 2017 at 08:57AM by Apellum
via reddit http://ift.tt/2srSfa8

Leave a Reply

