Questions about tasting wine in Tuscany. via /r/wine

Questions about tasting wine in Tuscany.

I'm traveling to Tuscany in August for a week, basing myself out of Montepulciano (with car). I have set up a one day tour of Avignonesi Winery and Boscarelli Winery via a personal tour guide, with stops at a few places to eat.

However, I know there are so many wineries in the area, but I unsure about protocol. In the US, you can walk into a winery tasting room without a reservation. How does it work in Tuscany? Do I need to email ahead or can I just drop in? Is there anything I should be aware of? Are tastings free?

Also, the places we plan to visit are: Montepulciano, Pienza, Monticchiello, Montalcino, Siena, San Gimignano, Radicofani, Orvieto, Cortona and Arezzo. Does anyone have any experience with wineries in these towns? Any recommendations?

I also keep hearing about Enotecas. Are they just wine shops where you purchase bottles? Do they also do tastings?

Thank you so much from a first-time Tuscany traveler!

Submitted June 16, 2017 at 08:45AM by hulahoopinghippos
via reddit http://ift.tt/2taaq3V

Leave a Reply

