ideas on bordeaux futures? via /r/wine

ideas on bordeaux futures?

Hey oenophiles of Reddit (snoenophiles?)

My wife and I got married last year, and I wanted to pick up a couple cases of our wedding year wine to drink on our anniversary each year for the next couple decades (or maybe every few years for the next 40-50 years…)

A couple years back, we went to France for a wedding and spent a couple days in Bordeaux. I didn't get to try nearly as many wines as I wanted to when I was there, but we both had a couple that we loved (though didn't note the producers), and I've never met a Bordeaux wine I didn't like. Given that, and given bordeaux' general ability to age well, I figured it would make the perfect wine to pick up and drink over the years.

The problem I have is two-fold: 1) I don't know which to get. I want to make sure I get something that will age well, and will last a very long time (in proper conditions, obviously). I had a couple bottles of 2004 Chateau Gruaud-Larose that was very good, and I have a bottle of the 2005 sitting in my wine fridge now. I figured I'd spend the next month or two trying every bordeaux wine I can get my hands one, with an emphasis on St Julien, Paulliac, and St Estephe since I've read those are meant to be excellent for 2016. To that end, does anyone have any particular suggestions for specific wines I should try? Furthermore, I've never really done a lot of cross-vintage tasting, so was wondering how similar wines of different vintages from a single producer are likely to be?

2) where would be a good place buy cases before they're released? I have a tab open for sothebyswine.com, but if anyone has alternatives I should check out, don't hesitate to post them up.

Some additional details:

  • I'm not going to say "money is no object", but I'm willing to spend upwards of a couple hundred dollars a bottle if it's going to be worth it. I want something that's going to age well.

  • I live in SF, but travel to LA and Seattle on a semi-regular basis

Submitted June 14, 2017 at 12:41AM by Kaitaan
via reddit http://ift.tt/2smM0WW

Leave a Reply

