Will a tart (high acidity?) Pinot Noir round out with age? via /r/wine

Will a tart (high acidity?) Pinot Noir round out with age?

I have several bottles of the 2015 Au Bon Climat, which has been a favorite of mine over the past few years. However, this 2015 vintage still pours very tart out of the bottle. It gets better with aeration in the glass, but it still seems to be more tart than most pinots that I've tasted.

I'm assuming that this is caused by acidity. Will this characteristic diminish over time as the wine ages in the bottle? I recently purchased some of the 2014 and it tasted less bitter out of the bottle, so I'm assuming so, but am not familiar enough with wine to know if it is caused by the climate conditions when that particular vintage was growing, or what.

I love this wine (the aroma is always loaded with fresh berries, moreso than other wines I've tasted) and I love it when it's great. However, some of these 2015s have really soured me on it.

Thanks!

Submitted May 31, 2017 at 07:35AM by MorphineSmile
via reddit http://ift.tt/2rjVkZf

Leave a Reply

