Suggestions for someone trying to get into the adult wine world (aka no more Barefoot and Yellowtail) via /r/wine

Suggestions for someone trying to get into the adult wine world (aka no more Barefoot and Yellowtail)

Hello everyone! I am by no means a wine snob, in fact I've spent most of my adult life drinking cheaper wines and (for the most part) enjoying them. However, I'm looking to step up my tastes and explore the world of slightly more expensive wines.

From what little I've read about the subject, it seems like wine can be separated into three main bands: below $20-30, $40-100, and $100+. I'd like to get into that second band, but I don't want to drop $40 on a bottle of wine and then realize I'm not into it. The reason I'm looking for a more expensive wine is that I'm under the impression vineyards need to charge at least a certain amount per bottle to cover the cost of quality ingredients and procedures. However, I'm open to any reasonably-priced suggestions that people can vouch for.

For the most part, I like reds over whites, sweeter wines rather than dryer (but not too sweet), and thicker rather than thinner/runnier. I've also had fruit wines (other than of grape) that I've really enjoyed. FWIW, I live in Chicago so it would need to be available out here. (EDIT: I cannot order anything online to be shipped to Illinois because of the laws here.)

Thanks so much!

Submitted May 28, 2017 at 10:08PM by da91392
via reddit http://ift.tt/2rdWUO1

Leave a Reply

