Dreaded Red Wine Headache…. via /r/wine

Dreaded Red Wine Headache….

Okay, so, I've been a wine drinker since I was a kid. (Sunday Italian Dinners and a bit of red wine until I was old enough for a glass).

It wasn't until a few years ago that I noticed I started to get really nasty headaches with red wine. I wondered at first if I was dehydrated or drinking not so great wine. So I made sure to have plenty of water and had a glass of wine from my aunt's collection with the same result.

I was pretty confused and upset. Some of my favorite wines were no longer something I could enjoy. Nothing in my diet had changed. I can still drink white wine, rosés and ports without issue. But no matter what red I have, a nasty headache ensues. No headache medications work in alleviating the pain….And I really don't like taking anything like that when I drink.

Any advice on what I can do? It happened rather suddenly a few years ago. I have been on the same prescription medication for several years, though I wonder if somehow that has changed anything.

I just want to enjoy some Pinot noir, damn it.

Submitted May 09, 2017 at 11:25AM by RadicalPirate
via reddit http://ift.tt/2qnKinX

Leave a Reply

