How viable is a wine fridge for aging wine? via /r/wine

How viable is a wine fridge for aging wine?

I consider myself somewhat of a wine connoisseur (no official certification, as I'm 23 and just got into the industry in November of last year), and have extensive knowledge of wine regions and styles and whatnot, but one thing I've struggled to get a good answer on is the viability of long-term aging in a wine fridge. My wines are at a constant 55 degrees Fahrenheit and both fridges are in a basement cupboard away from sunlight – but my concern is that on some websites I see people saying that you want to avoid vibration for aging wine. Both fridges vibrate extremely gently, simply because of the motors that refrigerate the wines. Should I be concerned about this? Can I trust a wine fridge for long-term aging or do I need to find a more suitable aging method for my handful of "special" wines that I intend to age for extended periods of time? Thanks in advance for any help with this.

Submitted May 07, 2017 at 11:30PM by tk1712
via reddit http://ift.tt/2qR1lMf

Leave a Reply

