Winemakers who made a career change: how did you start? via /r/wine

Winemakers who made a career change: how did you start?

From what I've read, many winemakers seem to have made a career change into the industry. I know this is a long process (10 years?), a lot of labor, and a lot to learn. How did you pitch yourself to your first harvest internship?

I currently work in marketing and am looking to make a career change in to winemaking. I'm working on my greenhorn harvest internship resume. Currently, I'm staring at a resume fit for any office job, and unsure how to communicate my desire and readiness to work to the point of physical exhaustion for weeks on end.

Although I work in an office, I don't have soft hands. I'm a climber, a weight-lifter, a gardener, and a sculptor by education. I have some experience working in a wine shop and studying wine and food pairing, so I'm not a complete stranger to the industry.

What advice do you have for people who want to make a career change in to winemaking?

Submitted April 24, 2017 at 08:38PM by tanzplant
via reddit http://ift.tt/2pfo46r

Leave a Reply

